FOOT WEAR – FUNNY STORIES

I have a problem of recognizing my own shoes. One day I left my chappals in front of the temple and came back home, wearing foot wear belonging to some one else . The next day again, I went to the same temple, quite near our house. The poojary recognized his chappals immediately and I had to cut a sorry figure! Luckily he knew me and laughed it off.

Once in Delhi, I was not so lucky. To enable me to recognize my shoes, I make it a point never to polish them. For a lazy person like me that is the best option. I can take the dirtiest pair and if it fits, well that is all right.

But this time I had some difficulty with my right shoe; it was a little loose and came off easily. Apparently, there was another devotee who preferred dirty foot wear. When I came home, my daughter cleaned the shoes, when she saw that both shoes were of different brand! She purchased a new pair for me.

Another namboodiri, who was Deputy Collector of Trichur district, was traveling in a bus. He was sitting between two other passengers. All the three were comfortably relaxing with their slip- in chappals off.

When his destination came, the namboodiri put his left foot in one chappal, not his, on the left side and he inserted his right foot in his neighbour’s foot wear. The bus went off. The person waiting for him was embarrassed. The man , Deputy Collector, had chappals of different colours. Then only the namboodiri realized that neither chappal belonged to him!

My cousin Vanthu, about whom I have written a blog, he being the richest among us and extremely miserly, used to choose chappals from a heap of used foot wear, sold dirt cheap on the foot path. It could easily be recogised that left and right ones are not matching. He says: what does it matter?

I know at least two namboodiris who go bare foot, even now, as we all did in my childhoood.

CAMERON, THE NEW PRIME MINISTER OF ENGLAND

The new Prime Minister of UK has shown remarkable courage in condemning Israel, along with the rest of the world, against their brazen attack on innocent ship in the high seas.

He has shown that he does not want to follow the shameless record of Tony Blair.

I wish him success!

IT IS RAINING HEAVILY – TOMORROW IS NEW MOON

I like to walk in the rain!

Today it reminded me of those days when it used to rain for days together. We used to play chess, with pieces of the midrib of plantain leaves serving as chessmen. The 64 squares were drawn with chalk on the floor.

Our game will be interrupted when something hot comes from the kitchen.

When the rains stop, we go for boating.

12-6-10

This I wrote yesterday. Today the rain is still continuing. According to our elders, the new moon induces the clouds to form rain drops.  The satellite photo shows thick couds all over the sea and south India. There is no wind. The steady rains will fil up the wells and ponds.

God gives plenty of water. We allow it to flow into the sea, carrying precious top soil. All my writings about ways to conserve water and prevent soil erosion, have no effect.