Poké-MOM-GO!

Its vacation time for my daughters which usually implies that we are at home, stupidly gazing at our individual screens- that seems to have replaced the kaleidoscope what we all used to enjoy as kids. Unlike my daughters, my husband and I love the outdoors and feel suffocated in the four walls of our home. Well, I decide to take a chance and asked my daughters for a possible outing to explore the beauty of Adelaide and enjoy what city has to offer. Knowing that the answer is not going to be an affirmative one, however being the eternal optimist I am, I popped the question anyway. Yes, said the younger one. I could feel the surge of excitement well inside me but I had to contain my joy coz there are too many hoops yet to jump. So once we had an umbrella agreement in place, the next was to zero in on a venue. Exploring the past is something I love to indulge in and what great way to begin with a visit to a Museum. Adelaide has this fabulous collection of artefacts that takes you to the realm of era beyond your imagination. So after clearing the other hurdles of what to wear and when to leave etc etc, we finally left home.

Sun was in its mesmerising splendid and we were out enjoying the blue sky and a glorious sunny day. We took a bus and got down in the heart of the city. My daughter was armed with her ipad and me with goodies. I had to ensure that I had enough goodies to keep her spirits high. Happily trotting we arrived at the South Australia Museum, a grand facade. It’s quite an engaging experience and you can almost relive and soak yourself in the rich past of Australia’s cultural and natural heritage. We both were thrilled beyond belief but for different reasons.

My daughter was super excited clicking pictures and going around the hall, exploring and discovering things. Once in a way pulled me to share her discovery and focused her camera towards me…I nearly fainted with surprise. I did gave my best smile to capture the moment. This was the first time ever I was been photographed by my daughter…and that’s too at her own will. It was beyond my comprehension as everything seems surreal. This sudden twist in my fate was too good to believe, but I played along. Before we barely finish scanning one floor, I was enthusiastically lead to the next floor by my daughter. “we need to go cover other floors as well….hurry up mama” and she almost pulled me to the elevator. The next floor was all about the animal kingdom, a subject that we both enjoy. We were introduced to a broad spectrum of birds, reptiles, fishes and strangest of creatures you can ever imagine. We spent a good time going around and exchanging notes and jokes.

After a couple of hours, we were exhausted and decided to take a break and plunged on the sofas to recharge ourselves. It was then that  I asked my daughter to show the pictures she clicked of me. She started laughing and then sheepishly tells me that it was not for the pictures that I had my camera focused on you, I was collecting Pokémons. All the Pokémon were getting accumulated on you mama…this is so much fun! We laughed our head out. When I connected the dots, the obvious truth emerged and for sure it was nothing but a pokemon go!

The fact that I had a good time with my daughter is all that matters. My mantra is to tap till it lasts!

2 Responses

  1. namastE,

    This morning I read an article on Bhagavaan KR^shNa written by SRee UNS Nampootirippad. When I searched his name out of curiosity, I was led to your blog, the entries in which delighted me, needless to say.

    I sampled a few of your blogs from here and there and saw that you are a devotee of SRee Guruvaayoorappan. Based on that I would like to share with you a few prayers I wrote and got published in June 2016. They follow. I will read more of your blogs that interest me and comment on them in the coming days assuming that you like that type of exchange of ideas. I still have not discovered a way to get a hold of SRee UNS’s “Peruvanam Peruma.” I am sure I will eventually. I have always, nearly always, accessed books that I wanted to read — which is the force behind my optimism.

    DKM Kartha

    കൃഷ്ണ മുക്തകങ്ങൾ

    ഡി. കെ. എം. കർത്താ (published in Bhakthapriya maasika)

    കൃഷ്ണകൈതവം

    “അമ്മേ, എൻപ്രിയവേണുവിൽ വരളലേറീടുന്നു ശീതത്തിനാൽ–

    ത്തന്നാലും പുതുവെണ്ണ നീണ്ട കുഴലിന്നുള്ളിൽപ്പുരട്ടീടുവാൻ!”

    എന്നീയർത്ഥനയോതി വെണ്ണയുരുളക്കിണ്ണം യശോദാംബയിൽ

    നിന്നാർജിച്ചു മരങ്ങൾ തീർത്ത മറവിൽ മായും മുരാരേ! ജയ!

    കൃഷ്ണവിവർത്തം

    ഒറ്റത്തന്ത്രിയണിഞ്ഞ തംബുരു വലംകൈയാലെ മീട്ടി, പ്പുറ–

    ക്കണ്ണില്ലാത്തൊരു സൂരദാസനരുളാൽ ചെയ് യുന്നു കൃഷ്ണാർച്ചനം;

    മുന്നിൽപ്പുല്ലിലിരുന്നു നീലമിഴിയാൽ നോക്കിസ്മിതം തൂകിടും

    കണ്ണൻ വാങ് മയനായി മാറിയുണരുന്നാ ശുദ്ധസങ് ഗീതിയിൽ !

    കൃഷ്ണസമാഗമം

    അങ്ങേകുന്ന പുനസ്സമാഗമസുഖം നെഞ്ചിൽത്തുടിയ് ക്കുന്പൊഴാ–

    ണെന്നിൽബ്ബോധമുദിപ്പ; തത്ഭുതമയം ഭാവൽക്കലീലാശതം!

    കയ് പെന്തെന്നറിയാതെയെങ്ങിനെയിവന്നാകും സ്വദിയ് ക്കാൻ മധൂ–

    നിഷ്യന്ദം ? വിരഹങ്ങളും തവദയാദാനപ്രകർഷം ഹരേ !

    കൃഷ്ണരഹസ്യം

    പത്രച്ചാർത്തിനിടയ് ക്കുകൂടിയൊളിവിൽക്കാണുന്നു ശ്രീരാധ നീൾ-

    ക്കണ്ണൻ മാല കൊരുക്കുവാൻ മലരുകൾ നുള്ളാതെ നേടുംവിധം—

    വൃക്ഷം വന്യസുമപ്രിയന്റെ മിഴികൾ കണ്ടുള്ളിലൻപാർന്നുടൻ

    മെയ് യിൽ നീളെ വിടർന്ന സൂക്ഷ്മപുളകം പെയ് യുന്നു പൂമാരിയായ് !

    കൃഷ്ണ വർഷം

    മേഘം കൃഷ്ണദയാഘനം; മഴ സുഖം പൂശുന്ന കൃഷ്ണാങ് ഗുലീ–

    ലേപം; കാറ്റിലണഞ്ഞ നേർത്ത കുളിരോ കണ്ണന്റെയാലിങ് ഗനം ;

    പേർത്തും പേർത്തുമുദിച്ച മിന്നലഴകിൽപ്പേറുന്നു കൃഷ്ണാധര–

    സ്മേരൌജ്ജല്യം; അഖണ്ഡവർഷമഖിലം കൃഷ്ണന്റെ രൂപാന്തരം !!

    കൃഷ്ണമയം

    കാണുന്നില്ലൊരിടത്തുമങ്ങയെയൊഴിച്ചൊന്നും, ഹരേ, സർവദാ

    കേൾക്കുന്നില്ലൊരു നാദവും തവ മഹാനാമങ്ങളല്ലാതെ ഞാൻ;

    മൂക്കിൽ വന്നു നിറഞ്ഞ സൗരഭസുഖം ഭാവൽക്കവക്ഷസ്സിലെ–

    പ്പൂമാലക്കുളിരിൽക്കുളിച്ച തുളസീനിശ്വാസസൌഗന്ധികം.

    കൃഷ്ണപാദരേണു

    ഗോധൂളീശുഭഗന്ധം; ഉർവരമഹീസൌരഭ്യം ഉന്മേഷദം;

    കാടിൻ പൂമണം; ആർദ്രവന്യതുളസീഗന്ധം പരാഗാത്മകം;

    കാളിന്ദീജലബിന്ദുവിൻ പരിമളം; സൌഗന്ധികം ധാതുജം —

    നാനാഗന്ധമിണങ്ങിയിങ്ങനെ ഹരീശ്രീപാദരേണുക്കളിൽ !

    കൃഷ്ണനൃത്യം

    വിഘ്നേശന്റെ മൃദംഗവാദനലയം ശ്രീരുദ്രവീണാസുധാ–

    സംപുഷ്ടം കരതാളവാദകഗുഹദ്ധ്വാനത്തൊടൊത്തീടവേ,

    ചിന്തിൽഗ്ഗൗരി നിറച്ചിടുന്നു രസമാം പീയൂഷ; മഗ്ഗീതിയെ–

    ക്കണ്ണൻ ചാക്ഷുഷയജ്ഞരൂപവതിയായ് ത്തീർക്കുന്നു രാധായുതൻ !!

    കൃഷ്ണപ്രത്യക്ഷം

    ക്ഷേത്രം നിന്റെ തികഞ്ഞ സന്നിധി, യിതാ ഭക്തന്റെ നെഞ്ചോ സദാ

    വേണൂനാദമൊഴുക്കി നീ നിറയുമാ വൃന്ദാവനം പാവനം;

    ദേഹം കൊണ്ടു മണത്തു തൊട്ടറിയുമിപ്പ്രത്യക്ഷ വിശ്വം, ഹരേ !

    പ്രേമത്തിന്റെ പുനീതസന്നിധി — ഭവച്ചൈതന്യഗോവർദ്ധനം !!

    കൃഷ്ണദാനം

    തന്നൂ നീ, കൃഷ്ണ, ഹസ്തം കമലമുകുളമായ് ക്കൂന്പിടാൻ നിന്റെ മുന്നിൽ,—

    ത്തന്നൂ നീയുത്തമാങ് ഗം തിരുനടയിലിതാ സാദരം കുന്പിടാനും;

    തന്നൂ നീ നീണ്ട നാവൊന്നഭിധകളുണരും ഭക്തിയോടേ ജപിയ് ക്കാൻ,

    തന്നൂ നീ മർത്ത്യപാദം ഖലകലിയിതിലും നിന്നെയോർത്തേ നടക്കാൻ.

    • Thank you for getting in touch Sir. This blog was managed by my father who passed away in March this year. After his sudden death, I though of keeping his memories alive through his blog. I am sure my father would have delighted to read the prayer you have written. Unfortunately, I cant read Malayalam. I am his youngest daughter.

Leave a comment