PAMPUKAVU

In Malayalam, pampu means snake and kavu is temple. Worship of snakes is perhaps as old as the land itself.The reason is obvious. When forests were cleared for human habitation, snakes were disturbed and snake bites are very common even in these modern times. So we try to appease the snake god.

All old houses had pampukavu. A small patch of land is marked off and the idol of cobra, made of granite, installed on a small mount. This piece of land remains undisturbed during the whole year except on the star day Ayilliam in the month of Kanni (September 16 to October 15, roughly) when just enough space is cleared of grass for enabling the poojari to sit and do the rites. Punnyaham(purification) ,Abhishekam(bathing) with milk, coconut water  and turmeric and offering naivedyam(things to eat) are the main functions.Now there are few houses with pampukavu. Pichakassery mana near the temple tank at Peruvanam is one where the virgin forest of pampukavu is still preserved, though too small to be called a forest! The whole Madangarli mana is practically a forest now with two pampukavu!

 

When I was a boy, my uncle at Pazhai used to do pooja at several houses.Beng old, he wanted to avoid it and told me to do it. I did protest saying I did not know how to do it, as I did not know the mantras.

He persuaded me as I may get some money as dakshina. The water for purification was made by him with proper mantras and I carried it in a kindi(a sort of pitcher). At one place, when I was doing pooja, a real snake appeared. I kept my cool and sprinkled punnyaham water on its head with all devotion! I was very much relieved when it withdrew to its hole !

Leave a comment